Friedrichstraße 4,
buzz “Shin” at door
by Kayla Guthrie
Cassette tape and .mp3
Edition of 100
Friedrichstraße 4, buzz “Shin” at door is the first musical release from New York-based artist, musician and writer Kayla Guthrie. Recorded during a visit to Berlin in 2009, the cassette documents an intimate concert held on the balcony of a friend’s apartment. Taking cues from the stars of the ’60s and ’70s such as Nico, Jim Morrison, and Ingrid Caven, Kayla inhabits the formal conventions of the song—coding a unique personal vision using obscure yet iconic lyrics delivered in sultry contralto. The cassette includes a digital download link.

1. Blue
2. Ocean Song
3. Horse
4. Real World Curtain
5. Tin Song
6. Looking Outside